Steps

Often when faced with uncertainty I freak out, pray, breathe, freak out, line out the steps that I need to take, breathe, freak out, and take action.

This does not always happen in that order.

The last week has been challenging.  I am in a week gap between an old and a new job.  I just moved quite a ways and went through more good byes than I like.

And then, a family emergency hit.  Next came the news that my short story “Skipping Stones” will be published over at Flash Fiction Press in January.  And meanwhile, I have all sorts of work to do in order to finalize the move.  People to notify, work to do, and oh goodness, lots of organizing and storing of miscellaneous boxes to do.

There are at least two takeaways from all this.  The first, coloring is actually quite therapeutic (I had gotten books as presents for other family members and might have also tried it out myself). The second, it does no good to worry about what you have no control over.

Put another way, the serenity prayer really does ring true:

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.

Another quote I’m fond of is from Victor Hugo

“Have courage for the great sorrows of life and patience for the small ones; and when you have laboriously accomplished your daily task, go to sleep in peace. God is awake.”

So those are my takeaways. I’ve already discussed my misgivings about this year, but I am hopeful. There are books I will finish this year, short stories I will publish this year. We’re all still here, and we’re all still walking through this life step by step, together.

2 comments on “Steps

  1. tlovespurple says:

    Good takeaways, Deary. And yes, coloring books are very therapeutic 😉

    Like

  2. Nathaniel Bivan says:

    Very honest…and I really like the quotes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

