Microfiction: Chestnut

I have been challenging myself to write microfiction each weekend.  The following is based on the one word prompt “chestnut” written and edited in about the span of an hour:

We’re standing in the middle of the wide open, rocky grazing land. The mesas rise like otherworldly sentinels in the distance and the brush covered land between is absolutely perfect.  My partner, a beautiful chestnut mare, is standing just behind me to my right.

She started life as a wild mustang and was still pretty young when I got her at the auction.  Mustangs are the best type of horse in my opinion, they still have instincts other horses have long lost in their domestication, even if their training can be long and intense.

She nudges my shoulder, the strong willed horse is ready for some water and fresh hay back at the ranch.  I oblige with a grin and a quick rub of my hand on her velvety head as it sits on my shoulder.  Of course, she doesn’t know why I make a point of coming out here but I know the land won’t always stay this way.

Even now I’m responding to queries from resort developers almost monthly.  But for now, in this one small glorious moment of time, the land and I still have a bit of the wild running through our veins.

I saddle up and pat her neck, “Let’s go home.”  Together, we ride off into the horizon.

 

Leave a Reply

